## **EXPLANATORY NOTES**

The terms "developed" and "developing" regions are used for statistical convenience and do not necessarily express a judgment as to the developmental stage of a particular country or area. Where appropriate, the term "country" may refer to a territory or area.

The developed regions are comprised of all countries of Europe, Northern America, Australia/New Zealand and Japan. The term "developed countries" refers to countries in the developed regions.

Developing regions are comprised of all countries of Africa, Asia (excluding Japan) and Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. The term "developing countries" is used to designate countries in the developing regions.

The group of least developed countries, as defined by the United Nations General Assembly in its resolutions (59/209, 59/210 and 60/33, 62/97, 64/295, 67/136) included 49 countries as of 31 December 2013: 34 in Africa, 9 in Asia, 5 in Oceania and 1 in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The designation sub-Saharan Africa refers to all countries and areas in Africa except Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia and Western Sahara.

Countries and areas are grouped geographically into six major areas: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Northern America and Oceania. These are further divided into 21 geographical regions.

Country names and the composition of geographical areas follow those of "Standard country or area codes for statistical use" (ST/ESA/STAT/SER.M/49/Rev.3), available at: http://unstats.un.org/unsd/methods/m49/m49.htm.

## The following abbreviations have been used:

AIDS	Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome
	1
DESA	Department of Economic and Social Affairs
HIV	Human immunodeficiency virus
MDG	Millennium Development Goal
NGO	Non-governmental organization
ODA	Official development assistance
UNFPA	United Nations Population Fund
WHO	World Health Organization